Skip to content

Alternative solution for pseudonymous hybrid measurement.

This document describes a special form of hybrid app measurement integration in environments where the use of native SZM libraries (pseudonymous measurement) cannot be used universally. The document exclusively describes the specifications of the alternative solution of integrating the measurement of hybrid apps across platforms.

For all further information, please refer to the content in the "Hybrid Measurement" section.

Valid for MEWs and stationary websites.

Hybrid apps usually obtain external web content from websites that are optimized for mobile device use. These websites are referred to as MEW (=mobile enabled website) in this document. If your hybrid app draws content from a stationary website (optimized for use by PCs and notebooks), all conditions described in the document for MEWs apply equally to the stationary website.

Measurement of hybrid apps (standard solution)

The library for pseudonymous measurement (IOMb) is able to measure the usage of hybrid apps, i.e. user actions within mobile content, which are presented in so-called 'WebViews', can also be captured and merged with the measurement data of the native app framework.

The prerequisite for merging the usage measurement from the app frame and MEW is that the websites accessed via the WebView are also tagged with the pseudonymous web sensor (formerly SZM tag) for mobile-enabled websites. The app and the MEWs called up from the app must use different site IDs assigned by INFOnline. Another requirement is that the call to the 'WebView' from the app code is adapted and called via the 'IOLWebView class' in order to provide the 'app identifiers' (currently mainly Client ID and site ID of the app) in the 'WebView'. The platform-specific Integration Guides describe how to implement usage measurement of hybrid apps using the native pseudonymous libraries throughout (default solution).

Alternative solution for the measurement of hybrid apps.

In addition to native app programming, other options are available in practice to develop an app. For example, development frameworks such as PhoneGap or Titanium support cross-platform development with a high proportion of web content. At the same time, these platforms limit the influence possibilities in the area of native app code by, for example, prohibiting the customization of the WebView call. As a result, hybrid measurement according to the standard procedure using the pseudonymous libraries is not fully possible. INFOnline describes in the following document how the measurement of hybrid apps can be implemented without using the customized WebView call (IOLWebView) provided by the pseudonymous library (alternative solution).

Integration alternative solution

Differences integration standard / alternative solution

The alternative solution of integrating the measurement of hybrid apps is based on the described procedure, where

  • the App identifiers are transferred from the app frame to the `WebView
  • and there transmitted to the pseudonymous system when the MEW tag is called.

This makes it possible to merge the user actions in the app frame with those of the MEW usage into one usage transaction.

Compared to the standard solution, the alternative solution for integration differs in one point:

  • the transfer of the 'app identifiers' from the app frame to the 'WebView' is done manually (standard solution: is done automatically by calling the 'IOLWebView')

Prerequisites

For the measurement of hybrid app usage using the alternative method, the following prerequisites must be met:

  • the platform-specific pseudonymous library (version 2.0 or higher) must be integrated into the app frame and initialized when the app is started.
  • the content accessed in the 'WebView' must be tagged with the version of the pseudonymous web sensor (formerly SZM tag) for mobile-enabled websites (MEW) that supports hybrid measurement
  • the parameters must be passed between the app frame and the 'WebView' being used

The use of the pseudonymous library (from version 2.0) in the app frame is mandatory, since

  • classification features of the app are formed via the pseudonymous library and transmitted to the pseudonymous system for classification of the usage process
  • the library transmits automatic start-stop events of the app that are relevant for the interpretation of the usage process
  • the app identification features are formed according to the specifications of the pseudonymous measurement and provided for further use

Technical integration

Pseudonyms library

The platform-specific pseudonymous library must be implemented according to the specifications of the associated Integration Guide. The library must be initialized when the app is started. At least version 2.0 of the pseudonym library must be used.

Determining the app identifiers

To determine the app identifiers, the pseudonymous library provides a dedicated getter function that can be called from the app's page code. The result is a JSON string to be stored in a suitable string variable and used when calling the setMultiIdentifier method. The result of getMultiIdentifier() is a JSON object as a string whose quotes are escaped. Examples for calling the method: iOS: As of the pseudonymous library version 2.0, the class IOLWebView exists in two variants, which are to be considered identical with respect to the result: recommended: [IOLWKWebView multiIdentifierString]; alternatively:
[IOLUIWebView multiIdentifierString]; Recommended is the use of IOLWKWebView (which references the SDK base class WKWebView), since as of iOS 12 the SDK base class UIWebView (which underlies IOLUIWebView) is marked as deprecated and will thus be dropped in the future. Note The SFSafariViewController cannot be used for pseudonymous measurement as it does not provide JavaScript injection capabilities!

Pseudonymous measurement:

IOLSession.getSessionForType(IOLSessionType.SZM).requestMultiIdentifier
(IOLSession.MultiIdentifierCallback multiIdentifierCallback);

The MultiIdentifierCallback is an interface that returns the "MultiIdentifier" via the onMultiIdentifier(String identifier) method once it is available. According to Google guidelines, the collection of the AdvertisingIdentifier must be done asynchronously. On Android, you also have to make sure that JavaScript and DOM storage are enabled, which is not necessarily the case in a standard WebView:

webView.getSettings().setJavaScriptEnabled(true);
webView.getSettings().setDomStorageEnabled(true);

Note It is important to make sure that a session of the respective pseudonymous library has been initialized before calling these methods! Passing the app identifiers into the WebView usage

For transferring the app identifiers from the app frame to WebView usage INFOnline provides the JavaScript function iom.setMultiIdentifier(identifier:string) is provided. identifier:string denotes the string variable into which the result of the function call was stored. This function must be called each time a URL is called in the WebView.

Setup web pages to capture hybrid usage.

The web pages that are called up in the usage process of the hybrid app with the 'WebView' and whose usage is to be recorded must be tagged as described in the chapter "Special pseudonymous web sensor when participating in app measurement".


Last update: April 7, 2022

Zum Inhalt

Alternativlösung für die pseudonyme hybride Messung

Das vorliegende Dokument beschreibt eine Sonderform der Integration der Messung hybrider Apps in Umgebungen, in denen die Nutzung der nativen SZM-Libraries (pseudonyme Messung) nicht durchgängig erfolgen kann. Das Dokument beschreibt plattformübergreifend ausschliesslich die Spezifikationen der Alternativlösung der Integration der Messung hybrider Apps.

Alle weiteren Informationen entnehmen Sie den Inhalten im Bereich "Hybride Messung".

Gültig für MEWs und stationäre Websites

Hybride Apps beziehen den externen Web-Content i.d.R. von Websites, die für die Nutzung von mobilen Endgeräten optimiert sind. Diese Websites werden in diesem Dokument als MEW (=mobile enabled Website) bezeichet. Sollte Ihre hybride App Content aus einer stationären Website (optimiert für die Nutzung von PCs und Notebooks) beziehen, gelten alle Bedingungen, die im Dokument für die MEWs beschrieben sind, gleichlautend für die stationäre Website.

Messung hybrider Apps (Standardlösung)

Die Library für die pseudonyme Messung (IOMb) ist in der Lage, die Nutzung von Hybrid Apps zu messen, d.h. auch Nutzeraktionen innerhalb mobiler Inhalte, welche in sog. WebViews dargestellt werden, können erfasst und mit den Messdaten des nativen Apps-Rahmens zusammengeführt werden.

Voraussetzung für die Zusammenführung der Nutzungsmessung aus App-Rahmen und MEW ist, dass die über den WebView aufgerufenen Webseiten ebenfalls mit dem pseudonymen Websensor (ehemals SZM-Tag) für mobile-enabled Websites vertaggt sind. Die App und die aus der App aufgerufenen MEWs müssen unterschiedliche, von INFOnline vergebene Angebotskennungen verwenden. Eine weitere Voraussetzung ist, dass der Aufruf des WebView aus dem App-Code angepasst und über die IOLWebView-Klasse aufgerufen wird, um die App-Identifikationsmerkmale (derzeit vor allem Client ID und Angebotskennung der App) im WebView bereitzustellen. In den plattformspezifischen Integration Guides wird beschrieben, wie die Nutzungsmessung hybrider Apps unter durchgängiger Nutzung der nativen pseudonymen Libraries realisiert werden kann (Standard-Lösung).

Alternativlösung zur Messung hybrider Apps

Neben der nativen Programmierung von Apps stehen in der Praxis weitere Optionen zur Verfügung ein App zu entwickeln. So unterstützen z.B. Entwicklungsframeworks wie PhoneGap oder Titanium die plattformübergreifende Entwicklung mit einem hohen Anteil an Web-Inhalten. Gleichzeitig beschränken diese Plattformen die Einfluss-Möglichkeiten im Bereich des nativen App-Codes, indem sie z.B. die Anpassung des WebView-Aufrufs untersagen. Dies führt dazu, dass die hybrid-Messung nach dem Standard-Verfahren unter Verwendung der pseudonymen Libraries nicht vollständig möglich ist. INFOnline beschreibt im nachfolgenden Dokument, wie die Messung hybrider Apps ohne Verwendung des von der pseudonyme Library bereitgestellten, angepassten WebView-Aufrufs (IOLWebView) realisiert werden kann (Alternativlösung).

Integration Alternativlösung

Unterschiede Integration Standard / Alternativlösung

Die Alternativlösung der Integration der Messung hybrider Apps beruht auf dem beschriebenen Verfahren, bei dem

  • die App-Identifikationsmerkmale aus dem App-Rahmen in den WebView übertragen
  • und dort beim Aufruf des MEW-Tags mit an das pseudonyme System übermittelt wird

Damit ist es möglich, die Nutzeraktionen im App-Rahmen mit denen der MEW Nutzung zu einem Nutzungsvorgang zusammenzuführen.

Im Vergleich zur Standardlösung weicht die Alternativlösung zur Integration in einem Punkt ab:

  • die Übergabe der App-Identifikationsmerkmale aus dem App-Rahmen in den WebView erfolgt manuell (Standard-Lösung: erfolgt automatisch über den Aufruf des IOLWebView)

Voraussetzungen

Für die Messung der Nutzung hybrider Apps nach dem alternativen Verfahren müssen folgende Voraussetzungen erfüllt sein:

  • die plattformspezifische pseudonyme Library (ab Version 2.0) muss in den App-Rahmen integriert sein und beim Start der App initialisiert werden.
  • die im WebView aufgerufenen Inhalte müssen mit der Version des pseudonyme Websensor (ehemals SZM-Tag) für mobile enabled Websites (MEW) vertaggt sein, welcher die hybride Messung unterstützt
  • die Parameterübergabe zwischen dem App-Rahmen und dem eingesetzten WebView erfolgen

Die Nutzung der pseudonyme Library (ab Version 2.0) im App-Rahmen ist obligatorisch, da

  • über die pseudonyme Library Klassifizierungsmerkmale der App gebildet und für die Einordnung des Nutzungsvorgangs an das pseudonyme System übermittelt werden
  • die Library automatische Start-Stopp Events der App übermittelt, die für die Interpretation des Nutzungsvorganges relevant sind
  • die App-Identifikationsmerkmale werden nach den Vorgaben der pseudonyme Messung gebildet und für die weitere Verwendung bereitgestellt

Technische Integration

Pseudonyme Library

Die Implementierung der plattformspezifischen pseudonyme Library muss nach den Vorgaben des zugehörigen Integration Guides erfolgen. Die Library muss beim Start der App initialisiert werden. Es muss mindestens die Version 2.0 der pseudonyme Library eingesetzt werden.

Ermittlung der App-Identifikationsmerkmale

Für die Ermittlung der App-Identifikationsmerkale stellt die pseudonyme Library eine dedizierte Getter-Funktion zur Verfügung, die aus dem Code der App aufgerufen werden kann. Das Ergebnis ist ein JSON-String, welcher in einer geeigneten String-Variable zu speichern und beim Aufruf der setMultiIdentifier-Methode zu verwenden ist. Das Ergebnis von getMultiIdentifier() ist ein JSON-Object als String, dessen Anführungszeichen escaped sind. Beispiele für den Aufruf der Methode: iOS: Ab der pseudonymen Library Version 2.0 gibt es die Klasse IOLWebView in zwei Varianten, welche in Bezug auf das Ergebnis als identisch anzusehen sind: empfohlen: [IOLWKWebView multiIdentifierString]; alternativ:
[IOLUIWebView multiIdentifierString]; Empfohlen ist die Verwendung des IOLWKWebView (welcher die SDK Basis-Klasse WKWebView referenziert), da ab iOS 12 die SDK Basis-Klasse UIWebView (welche dem IOLUIWebView zugrunde liegt) als deprecated markiert ist und damit in Zukunft entfallen wird. Hinweis Der SFSafariViewController kann für die pseudonyme Messung nicht verwendet werden, da dieser keine Möglichkeit zur JavaScript-Injection bietet!

Pseudonyme Messung:

IOLSession.getSessionForType(IOLSessionType.SZM).requestMultiIdentifier
(IOLSession.MultiIdentifierCallback multiIdentifierCallback);

Das MultiIdentifierCallback ist ein Interface, welches über die Methode onMultiIdentifier(String identifier) den "MultiIdentifier" zurückgibt, sobald dieser verfügbar ist. Gemäß Google Richtlinien muss die Erhebung des AdvertisingIdentifiers asynchron erfolgen. Bei Android muss man zusätzlich sicherstellen, dass JavaScript und DOM-Storage aktiviert sind, was in einem Standard WebView nicht zwingend der Fall ist:

webView.getSettings().setJavaScriptEnabled(true);
webView.getSettings().setDomStorageEnabled(true);

Hinweis Es ist darauf zu achten, dass vor dem Aufruf dieser Methoden eine Session der jeweiligen pseudonyme Library initialisiert wurde! Übergabe der App-Identifikationsmerkmale in die WebView Nutzung

Für die Übergabe der App-Identifikationsmerkmale aus dem App-Rahmen in die WebView Nutzung stellt INFOnline die JavaScript-Funktion iom.setMultiIdentifier(identifier:string) bereit. identifier:string bezeichnet die String-Variable, in die das Ergebnis des Funktionsaufrufes gespeichert wurde. Diese Funktion muss bei jedem Aufruf einer URL im WebView aufgerufen werden.

Einrichtung Webseiten zur Erfassung der hybriden Nutzung

Die Webseiten, die im Nutzungsvorgang der hybriden App mit dem WebView aufgerufen werden und deren Nutzung erfasst werden soll, müssen im Kapitel "Spezieller pseudonyme Websensor bei Teilnahme an App-Messung“ beschriebenen Tag versehen werden.


Letztes Update: January 20, 2022