Skip to content

INFOnline Consent String Notation

Note on the use of manual code notation

The use of the measurement procedure is the responsibility of the provider of digital sites, who is also responsible for fulfilling the information obligations specified in Art. 13 DS-GVO and for obtaining the consent of its users (§25 TTDSG) when using the pseudonymous measurement method. This also applies when using manual consent transmission.

Note when participating in the agof daily digital facts

Please note the Technical requirements of agof.

1.1 Why a separate notation?

The TCF 2.0 framework provides its own notation for the storage and transmission of the consent, which provides a character string with dynamic length at the end. This is finally stored locally in the browser (LocalStorage or Cookies). For INFOnline, this character string is unsuitable for processing the measurement data, since it contains too much unnecessary information and does not allow a quick query of the Consent for a particular vendor without prior parsing.

For this reason, INFOnline has decided to store the consent for the downstream vendors in the measurement (IVW, agof, etc.) in a much more compact character string with a notation based on bit field arithmetic.

1.2 Representation of the notation

Below you will find an illustration of the INFOnline notation of the Consent String:

CMP - bit field IO Consent - bit field agof Consent- bit field
Range: 00 - FF

Possible values

00: no CMP
01: TCF 2. x compatible
FF: other CMP




Range: 0000 - FFFF

Possible values

0000: no Consent
0001: Purpose 1
0080: Purpose 8
0081: Purpose 1+8




Range: 0000 - FFFF

Possible Values

0000: no Consent
0001: Purpose 1
0040: Purpose 7
0100: Purpose 9
0041: Purpose 1+7
0101: Purpose 1+9
0140: Purpose 7+9
0141: Purpose 1+7+9

tab. 1: INFOnline Consent String Format

Note

To ensure your data quality, it is necessary that at least 0081 is transferred to the measuring system for INFOnline/IVW and at least 0141 for agof.

1.3 Explanation

Like the tc-string in the TCF 2.0 framework, the INFOnline's Consent String has a dynamic length, but this is specified by the INFOnline. In contrast to the 'tc-string', the INFOnline's Consent String is considerably shorter in total. Currently the string has a defined length of 14 characters. In future, the INFOnline can increase this length as desired and thus extend it to include further vendors.

The character string has individual reserved fields with a defined start and end position. It is started at position 0 and the fields have the following meaning:

1st field(0-1): The CMP used. 2nd field (2-5): INFOnline Consent 3rd field (6-9): agof Consent

Each field is hexadecimal coded and can accordingly accommodate the number ranges '00-FF' for a 2-digit range and '0000-FFFF' for a 4-digit range. Except for the first field (simple numeric enumeration), the remaining fields are bit fields. These store the Consent of the corresponding Vendor via bit field arithmetic.

1.4 Conversion table for Purposes in bit field

To determine the Consent for a Vendor, the conversion table shown below can be used and the example sketched next to it can be used:

alt text Fig. 2: Conversion table

note

The bit field is encoded in hexadecimal!

Here is a practical example of an INFOnline Consent String to illustrate the calculation basis and notation:

Assuming a publisher uses the INFOnline measurement, is a member of agof and measurement data for the daily digital facts (short: ddf) is collected and processed. In addition to the ddf, measurement data for the daily campaign facts (in short: dcf) is also processed. This means that the consent for two vendors must be determined and transmitted. Now, of course, you have to know what the minimum requirements are for these vendors so that there is a legal basis for processing the measurement data for these three vendors:

  • INFOnline -> TCF 2.0 Purpose 8 (from December 2021 also Purpose 1)
  • agof -> TCF 2.0 Purposes 1, 7 and 9
note

In principle, the purposes can be taken from the Global Vendor List of the IAB for TCF 2.0.

Now you can use the conversion table to determine the corresponding value for the individual Purposes:

For INFOnline, the hex values '0001' (for Purpose 1) and '0080' (for Purpose 8) result. The values are added together again and the hexadecimal coded bit field 0081 is obtained.

For agof, the hex values '0001' (for Purpose 1), '0040' (for Purpose 7) and '0100' (for Purpose 9) result. The values are added together again and the hexadecimal coded bit field 0141 is obtained.

Now you only have to add the three bit fields together and you will get the string '0000810141' for INFOnline and agof. Then the bit field for the CMP used is placed in front. Here it is important to distinguish whether the Consent was determined via a TCF 2.0 compliant CMP, no CMP or another CMP. If the Consent is processed automatically via a TCF 2.0 compliant CMP, the first field of the INFOnline Consent string always contains '01'. If you have not determined the Consent via a TCF 2.0 compliant CMP, the value 'F' would appear here. If you have not used a CMP to determine the Consent, the first field must contain the value '00'.

Assuming that the Consent is processed automatically, this results in an INFOnline Consent String with the value '01008100141'. This Consent String also represents the minimum of possible information for a legal basis for processing the measurement data for all two Vendors.

2.1 Prerequisites

In order for automated processing of a TCF 2.0 compliant Consent to take place within the measurement, a Publisher must use a TCF 2.0 compliant CMP. For this, the CMP must make the IAB TCF 2.0 Toolkit available in the browser at runtime via a stub function. Only when these requirements are met can automated processing and transmission take place. If you are not sure whether you meet the requirements, please contact your CMP provider. As a rule, all TCF 2.0 compliant CMPs work according to this requirement.

note

INFOnline recommends the following installation sequence. The CMP script should be loaded first in the page source text, followed by the Measurement Manager.

2.2 Determination

Here you will find a flow chart showing the automatic determination, processing and transmission of the Consent Information in the Measurement Script:

alt text

Here is a flowchart of how the INFOnline extracts and processes the Consent via the TCF 2.0 API:

alt text

2.3 Transmission

The transmission of the Consent takes place in the request parameter ct and is sent with each measurement call, with the automatically determined or manually set Consent. If a Publisher neither has a TCF 2.0 compatible CMP nor sets the Consent manually, a default Consent value of '00000000' is transmitted.

2.4 Intermediate storage

The determined consent is stored in the form of a first-party cookie in the user's browser. The cookie has a maximum expiry date of 4 weeks.

In addition to the consent, the date of the consent decision is also stored in the cookie as a Unix epoch timestamp. If the user changes his or her Consent decision via the CMP over time, the measurement script automatically updates the value and date in the cookie.

2.5 Effects on the Publisher's Implementation

If the Consent is processed automatically via a TCF 2.0 compliant CMP, there is no implementation impact. You do not need to make any changes.

3. manual transmission of the Consent by the Publisher, only valid pseudonymous standalone measurement

3.1 Prerequisites

Manual transmission of the Consent by a Publisher is necessary if:

  • the site processes data subject to the DSVGO and a legal basis must be obtained from the user for this purpose.
  • the site is a member of agof and participates in the daily digital fact and/or the digital campaign facts.
  • the site does not use a CMP or a non-TCF 2.0 compliant CMP for obtaining the legal basis.

3.2 Transmission by the publisher

For a manual transmission of the Consent without TCF 2.0, 2 variants are available to the Publisher via the INFOnline measurement script:

Variant 1: Transmission by a public method (long form).

 1
 2
 3
 4
 5
 6
 7
 8
 9
10
<script type="text/javascript">
// Manual transmission of the consent
iom.consent('0000810141');
// Measurement call
iom.count({
  st: 'site ID', // site
  cp: 'pagecode', // pagecode
  co: 'comment' // comment
});
</script>

Variant 1: Transmission by a public method (short form).

 1
 2
 3
 4
 5
 6
 7
 8
 9
10
<script type="text/javascript">
// Manual transmission of the consent
iom.ct('0000810141');
// Measurement call
iom.c({
  st: 'site ID', // site
  cp: 'page code', // page code
  co: 'comment' // comment
});
</script>

Variant 2: Transmission in the measurement call (long form).

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
<script type="text/javascript">
// Measurement call
iom.count({
  st: 'site ID', // site
  cp: 'page code', // page code
  co: 'comment' // comment
  ct: '0000810141' // Consent
});
</script>
Variant 2: Transmission in the measurement call (short form).

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
<script type="text/javascript">
// Measurement call
iom.c({
  st: 'site ID', // site
  cp: 'page code', // page code
  co: 'comment' // comment
  ct: '0000810141' // Consent
});
</script>

4.1 IAB Vendor 730 (INFOnline) Purpose 1 and 8

4.1.1 Legitimate interest

???+ info "Note

1
As of the effective date of the TTDSG on December 1, 2021, the Legitimate Interest of INFOnline Vendor 730 is no longer available. The Vendor will be expanded to include Purpose 1 as of November 24, 2021. If you continue to pursue the Legitimate Interest after the cut-off date, the pseudonymous measurement procedure must be implemented manually in the source code and deactivated in the Measurement Manager.

???+ info "Continue legitimate interest".

1
Should you continue to declare Legitimate Interest (pursuant to Art. 6 Par. 1 f) DSGVO) in the context of data collection for INFOnline (Vendor 730), please contact Customer Service. To do so, please send an email.

Accordingly, we have extended the technical requirements of our measurement procedure in such a way with the Measurement Manager that processing of user data, dependent on the granting of consent by the website visitor, takes place.

If you currently use the standalone solution of pseudonymous or anonymous measurement, it is necessary to make the request only under Consent as of December 1, 2021. The implementation of the query (programmatic measure) is to be realized independently by the site. Due to the different systems - both in CMS and CMP - it is not possible to provide a standard template for this.

???+ info "Note

1
If no programmatic measure is taken, the data collection/processing is processed by default under legitimate interest in the INFOnline/IVW context.

Processing is carried out in accordance with agof's instructions.


Last update: April 7, 2022

Zum Inhalt

INFOnline Consent String Notation

Hinweis zur Nutzung der manuellen Codenotation

Die Verwendung des Messverfahrens liegt in der Verantwortung des Anbieters von Digital-Angeboten, dieser ist auch für die Erfüllung der in Art. 13 DS-GVO vorgegebenen Informationspflichten und zur Einholung der Zustimmung seiner Nutzer (§25 TTDSG) bei Einsatz der pseudonymen Messmethode verantwortlich. Dies gilt auch bei Verwendung der manuellen Consentübermittlung.

Hinweis bei Teilnahme an der agof daily digital facts

Bitte beachten Sie die Technischen Voraussetzungen der agof.

1.1 Warum eine eigene Notation

Das TCF 2.0 Framework sieht für die Speicherung und Übermittlung des Consents eine eigene Notation vor, die am Ende eine Zeichenkette mit dynamischer Länge vorsieht. Diese wird schlussendlich lokal im Browser abgespeichert (LocalStorage oder Cookies). Für die INFOnline ist diese Zeichenkette für die Verarbeitung der Messdaten denkbar ungeeignet, da sie zum einen zu viele unnötige Informationen enthält und zum anderen eine schnelle Abfrage des Consents für einen bestimmten Vendor ohne vorheriges Parsen nicht zulässt.

Aus diesem Grund hat sich die INFOnline dazu entschlossen den Consent für die in der Messung nachgelagerten Vendoren (IVW, agof, etc.) in einer wesentlich kompakteren Zeichenkette mit einer auf einer Bitfeld-Arithmetik bestehenden Notation abzulegen.

1.2 Darstellung der Notation

Unten finden sie eine Abbildung zur INFOnline Notation des Consent Strings:

CMP - Bitfeld IO Consent - Bitfeld agof Consent- Bitfeld
Range: 00 - FF

Mögliche Werte

00: keine CMP
01: TCF 2.x kompatibel
FF: andere CMP





Range: 0000 - FFFF

Mögliche Werte

0000: kein Consent
0001: Purpose 1
0080: Purpose 8
0081: Purpose 1+8




Range: 0000 - FFFF

Mögliche Werte

0000: kein Consent
0001: Purpose 1
0040: Purpose 7
0100: Purpose 9
0041: Purpose 1+7
0101: Purpose 1+9
0140: Purpose 7+9
0141: Purpose 1+7+9

Tabelle 1: INFOnline Consent String Format

Hinweis

Um Ihre Datenqualität sicherzustellen ist es notwendig, dass für die INFOnline/IVW mind. 0081 und für agof mind. 0141 ans Messsystem übergeben wird.

1.3 Erläuterung

Der Consent String der INFOnline hat wie der tc-string im TCF 2.0 Framework eine dynamische Länge, die allerdings von der INFOnline vorgegeben wird. Im Gegensatz zum tc-string ist der Consent string der INFOnline in der Summe wesentlich kürzer. Aktuell hat die Zeichenkette eine definierte Länge von 14 Zeichen. Diese Länge kann die INFOnline in Zukunft beliebig erhöhen und somit um weitere Vendoren erweitern.

Die Zeichenkette verfügt über einzelne reservierte Felder mit einer definierten Start- und Endposition. Gestartet wird an Position 0 und die Felder haben folgende Bedeutung:

  1. Feld(0-1): Die verwendete CMP
  2. Feld(2-5): INFOnline Consent
  3. Feld(6-9): agof Consent

Jedes Feld ist hexadezimal kodiert und kann entsprechend die Zahlenbereiche 00-FF für einen 2-stelligen Bereich und 0000-FFFF für einen 4-stelligen Bereich aufnehmen. Bis auf das erste Feld (einfache nummerische Aufzählung) handelt es sich bei den übrigen Feldern um Bitfelder. Diese speichern über eine Bitfeld-Arithmetik den Consent des entsprechenden Vendors.

1.4 Umrechnungstabelle für Purposes in Bitfeld

Für die Ermittlung des Consents für einen Vendor kann die unten dargestellte Umrechnungstabelle genutzt und das daneben skizzierte Beispiel genutzt werden:

alt text Abbildung 2: Umrechnungstabelle

Hinweis

Das Bitfeld is hexadezimal kodiert!

Hier ein Praxisbeispiel für einen INFOnline Consent String, um die Berechnungsgrundlage und Notation zu veranschaulichen:

Angenommen ein Publisher nutzt die INFOnline Messung, ist Mitglied in der agof und es werden Messdaten für die daily digital facts (kurz: ddf) erfasst und verarbeitet. Zusätzlich zur ddf werden auch Messdaten für die daily campaign facts (kurz: dcf) verarbeitet. Damit muss der Consent für zwei Vendoren ermittelt und übertragen werden. Nun muss man natürlich wissen, welche Purposes für diese Vendoren als minimale Voraussetzung gelten, damit eine rechtliche Grundlage besteht die Messdaten für eben diese drei Vendoren zu verarbeiten:

  • INFOnline -> TCF 2.0 Purpose 8 (Ab Dezember 2021 auch Purpose 1)
  • agof -> TCF 2.0 Purposes 1, 7 und 9
Hinweis

Grundsätzlich lassen sich die Purposes der Globalen Vendor Liste des IAB für TCF 2.0 entnehmen.

Nun kann man anhand der Umrechnungstabelle für die einzelnen Purposes den entsprechenden Wert ermitteln:

Für die INFOnline ergeben sich die Hex-Werte 0001 (für Purpose 1) und 0080 (für Purpose 8). Die Werte werden wieder addiert und man erhält das hexadezimal kodierte Bitfeld 0081.

Für die agof ergeben sich die Hex-Werte 0001 (für Purpose 1), 0040 (für Purpose 7) und 0100 (für Purpose 9). Die Werte werden wieder addiert und man erhält das hexadezimal kodierte Bitfeld 0141.

Nun muss die drei Bitfelder nur noch zusammenfügen und erhält somit für die INFOnline und agof die Zeichenkette 0000810141. Anschließend stellt man noch das Bitfeld für die verwendete CMP voran. Hierbei gilt es zu unterscheiden, ob der Consent über eine TCF 2.0 konforme CMP, keine CMP oder eine andere CMP ermittelt wurde. Bei der automatischen Verarbeitung des Consents über eine TCF 2.0 konforme CMP steht im ersten Feld des INFOnline Consent Strings immer 01. Falls Sie den Consent nicht über eine TCF 2.0 konforme CMP ermittelt haben würde hier der Wert FF stehen. Haben Sie keine CMP für die Ermittlung des Consents genutzt muss im ersten Feld der Wert 00 stehen.

Angenommen die Verarbeitung des Consents geschieht automatisch, so ergibt sich somit ein INFOnline Consent String mit der Ausprägung 01008100141. Dieser Consent String stellt auch das Minimum der möglichen Informationen für eine rechtliche Grundlage zur Verarbeitung der Messdaten für alle zwei Vendoren dar.

2. Automatische Verarbeitung von TCF 2.0 konformen Consent

2.1 Voraussetzungen

Damit eine automatisierte Verarbeitung eines TCF 2.0 konformen Consents innerhalb der Messung stattfinden kann, muss ein Publisher eine TCF 2.0 konforme CMP nutzen. Dafür muss die CMP das IAB TCF 2.0 Toolkit über eine Stub-Funktion zur Laufzeit im Browser zur Verfügung stellen. Erst wenn diese Voraussetzungen erfüllt sind, kann eine automatisierte Verarbeitung und Übermittlung stattfinden. Wenn Sie nicht sicher sind, ob sie die Voraussetzung erfüllen dann wenden sie sich bitte an Ihren CMP Anbieter. In der Regel arbeiten alle TCF 2.0 konformen CMPs nach dieser Vorgabe.

Hinweis

Seitens INFOnline wird empfohlen folgende Einbau-Reihenfolge einzuhalten. Zunächst soll im Seitenquelltext das CMP-Script geladen werden und im Anschluss daran der Measurement Manager.

2.2 Ermittlung

Hier finden sie einen Ablaufplan, der die automatische Ermittlung, Verarbeitung und Übertragung der Consent Information im Messskript darstellt:

alt text

Hier ein Ablaufplan wie die INFOnline den Consent über die TCF 2.0 API extrahiert und verarbeitet:

alt text

2.3 Übertragung

Die Übermittlung des Consents erfolgt im Request Parameter ct und wird bei jeden Messaufruf, mit dem automatisch ermittelten oder manuell gesetzten Consent mitgeschickt. Falls ein Publisher weder über eine TCF 2.0 kompatible CMP verfügt noch den Consent manuell setzt, wird ein Standard Consent Wert von 0000000000 übermittelt.

2.4 Zwischenspeicherung

Der ermittelte Consent wird in Form eines First-Party Cookies im Browser des Nutzers abgespeichert. Der Cookie hat dabei ein maximales Ablaufdatum von 4 Wochen.

Zusätzlich zum Consent wird auch das Datum der Consent Entscheidung im Cookie als Unix-Epoch-Timestamp abgelegt. Ändert der Nutzer im Laufe der Zeit seine Consent Entscheidung über die CMP ab, aktualisiert das Messskript automatisch den Wert und das Datum im Cookie.

2.5 Auswirkungen auf die Implementierung beim Publisher

Bei einer automatischen Verarbeitung des Consents über eine TCF 2.0 konforme CMP gibt es keine Auswirkungen auf die Implementierung. Sie müssen keine Änderung vornehmen.

3. Manuelle Übermittlung des Consents durch den Publisher, nur gültig pseudonyme Standalone Messung

3.1 Voraussetzungen

Eine manuelle Übermittlung des Consents durch einen Publisher ist dann nötig, wenn:

  • das Angebot Daten, die der DSVGO unterliegen, verarbeitet und eine Rechtsgrundlage vom Nutzer hierzu eingeholt werden muss.
  • das Angebot Mitglied der agof ist und an der daily digital fact und/oder an der digital campaign facts partizipiert.
  • das Angebot keine CMP oder eine nicht TCF 2.0 konforme CMP für die Einholung der Rechtsgrundlage nutzt.

3.2 Übermittlung durch den Publisher

Für eine manuelle Übermittlung des Consents ohne TCF 2.0 stehen dem Publisher über das Messskript der INFOnline 2 Varianten zur Verfügung:

Variante 1: Übermittlung durch eine öffentliche Methode (lange Form)

 1
 2
 3
 4
 5
 6
 7
 8
 9
10
<script type="text/javascript">
// Manuelle Übermittlung des Consent
iom.consent('0000810141');
// Messaufruf
iom.count({
  st: 'angebotskennung', // Site
  cp: 'seitencode', // Seitencode
  co: 'kommentar' // Kommentar
});
</script>

Variante 1: Übermittlung durch eine öffentliche Methode (kurze Form)

 1
 2
 3
 4
 5
 6
 7
 8
 9
10
<script type="text/javascript">
// Manuelle Übermittlung des Consent
iom.ct('0000810141');
// Messaufruf
iom.c({
  st: 'angebotskennung', // Site
  cp: 'seitencode', // Seitencode
  co: 'kommentar' // Kommentar
});
</script>

Variante 2: Übermittlung im Messaufruf (lange Form)

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
<script type="text/javascript">
// Messaufruf
iom.count({
  st: 'angebotskennung', // Site
  cp: 'seitencode', // Seitencode
  co: 'kommentar' // Kommentar
  ct: '0000810141' // Consent
});
</script>
Variante 2: Übermittlung im Messaufruf (kurze Form)

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
<script type="text/javascript">
// Messaufruf
iom.c({
  st: 'angebotskennung', // Site
  cp: 'seitencode', // Seitencode
  co: 'kommentar' // Kommentar
  ct: '0000810141' // Consent
});
</script>

4. Hinweise zur Consent-Verarbeitung

4.1 IAB Vendor 730 (INFOnline) Purpose 1 und 8

4.1.1 Legitimes Interesse

Hinweis

Ab dem Inkrafttreten des TTDSGs am 1. Dezember 2021 steht das Berechtigte Interesse des INFOnline Vendors 730 nicht mehr zur Verfügung. Der Vendor wird zum 24. November 2021 um den Purpose 1 erweitert. Sollten Sie nach dem Stichtag weiterhin das Berechtigte Interesse verfolgen, ist das pseudonyme Messverfahren manuell in den Quelltext zu implementieren und im Measurement Manager zu deaktivieren.

Berechtiges Interesse fortführen

Sollten Sie weiterhin im Rahmen der Datenerhebung für INFOnline (Vendor 730) entscheiden für das berechtigte Interesse (gem. Art. 6 Abs. 1 f) DSGVO) aussprechen, kommen Sie bitte auf den Customer Service zu. Senden Sie hierfür eine E-Mail.

Demgemäß haben wir die technischen Voraussetzungen unseres Messverfahrens so mit dem Measurement Manager erweitert, dass eine Verarbeitung von Nutzerdaten, abhängig von der Erteilung einer Einwilligung des Webseitenbesuchers, erfolgt.

Setzen Sie aktuell die die Standalone Lösung der pseudonymen oder anonymen Messung ist es erforderlich, den Request ab dem 1. Dezember 2021 nur unter Consent zu stellen. Die Umsetzung der Abfrage (programmatische Maßnahme) ist durch das Digital-Angebot eigenständig zu realisieren. Aufgrund der unterschiedlichen Systeme – sowohl im Bereich CMS als auch CMP – ist es nicht möglich, hierfür eine Standardvorlage zur Verfügung zu stellen.

Hinweis

Erfolgt keine programmatische Maßnahme, wird die Datenerhebung/-verarbeitung unter dem legitimen Interesse im INFOnline/IVW-Kontext standardmäßig verarbeitet.

Die Verarbeitung erfolgt gemäß Weisung der agof.


Letztes Update: February 11, 2022