Skip to content

INFOnline Measurement: Service platform self-hosting

Prerequisites and system requirements

The following requirements must be met in order to operate the service platform in your infrastructure:

  • Linux (Unix) based infrastructure
  • appropriate permissions on the systems
  • appropriate environment to run container (e.g. Docker) images
  • Proxy for SSL offloading1.
  • CORS configuration via SSL offloader2 or via service platform3

1 An SSL offloader is a software which takes care of the SSL/TLS connections. This needs a certificate issued to match the domain. The service platform needs an SSL offloader because it cannot manage SSL/TLS connections. Well known software in this area are e.g. nginx or Apache HTTP Server.
2 In order to ensure the error-free function of the census measurement, CORS must be configured correctly. This can be done accordingly in the SSL offloader used. 3 CORS can be configured in the service platform, see configuration container.

We recommend the following minimum system requirements for a PI volume of up to 2,000 PI per minute:

  • CPU: 4core
  • RAM: 16GB
  • HDD: 80GB

If there are peak times on your site with more than 2,000 PI per minute, please dimension the system accordingly larger.

Deployment of the service platform

In order to run the service platform in your infrastructure, we will provide you with the following after the order is placed:

  • Container image for the service platform
  • AccessToken for the operation of the service platform

We provide you with the container image after registration via quay.io Repo.
You will receive the access data for the repo with your order confirmation - we will provide you with the AccessToken after setup of your self-hosted service platform in our system with another setup email.

Setup of the service platform in the INFOnline system

To ensure tamper-free measurement via INFOnline Measurement, the digital sites and the associated service platforms are managed centrally at INFOnline. The service platform receives the required information from the central INFOnline system via corresponding configurations. An AccessToken is required for communication between the INFOnline system and the self-hosted service platform. You can obtain this from our Customer Service team upon request. In return, please send us the corresponding host entry under which the self-hosted service platform will be accessible.

Operation of the service platform

  1. installation
  • Create an environment file with the parameters to start the container.
    relay_key=<relay-client-name>
    `token=<AccessToken>1
  • Repo login:
    `docker login --username quay.io2
  • Pulling the container:
    `docker pull quay.io/infonline/relay-client:[VERSION]3
  1. start
  • Starts a container listening on port 8101:
    docker run --name relay-client --env-file [PATH_TO_ENVIRONMENT_FILE] --publish 127.0.0.1:8101:53119/tcp -d quay.io/infonline/relay-client:[VERSION]

1 Get service-platform provisioning with the service-platform setup in the INFOnline system.
2 You will receive the username with the setup confirmation.
3 You will receive the current version with your setup email. If there are any changes, you will receive a separate mail.

Configuration Container

The following parameters can be used to configure the container:

Abbreviation Type Default Length Pattern Mandatory Description
TOKEN String - 20 ^[a-zA-Z0-9_]*$ yes Token for authentication at IO
RELAY_KEY String - ^[a-zA-Z0-9_]*$ yes The host name of the service platform that you submitted to INFOnline during setup
cors Bool False - - no Specifies whether the CORS header should be set by the relay client for https (only as of version 0.9.1)

Recommendations for operation

To ensure smooth operation, we recommend that you design your infrastructure, or the operation of the service platform, dynamically.

Spooling

If the INFOnline system cannot be reached, the service platform temporarily stores the data in the container under /var/spool/rsyslog until the INFOnline system can be reached again. If the folder is not stored on the host system, this data can be lost during a container restart. Therefore, we recommend temporarily storing this folder on the host system using the following commands:

docker volume create io-service docker run --name relay-client --env-file [PFAD_ZUR_ENVIRONMENT_DATEI] -v io-service:/var/spool/rsyslog --publish 127.0.0.1:8101:53119/tcp -d quay.io/infonline/relay-client:[VERSION]

Monitoring

The service platform provides an API for monitoring the operation of the container.
1 The container offers at the address localhost:8101/hc.io`` the possibility to retrieve a healthcheck, which checks the functioning of the PHP page and thus the chain of the software. If the check is successful, a ``200`` message is returned. 2 Within the container, several Prometheus Exporter endpoints are provided on port 53120:localhost:53120/nginx_status, ```localhost:53120/rsyslog_status and localhost:53120/php_status``. These addresses are only accessible within the container daemon network. If you want to reach them from the host, you must also set up a forwarding to port 53120.docker run --name relay-client --env-file [PATH_TO_ENVIRONMENT_FILE] --publish 127.0.0.1:8101:53119/tcp --publish 127.0.0.1:53120:53120/tcp -d quay.io/infonline/relay-client:[VERSION]```

Effects in case of failures

The service platform is the central modul of INFOnline Measurements. If a disruption occurs in the operation of the service platform, it will have a direct impact on the measurement results. A failure and/or disturbed accessibility of the service platform leads directly to an under-measurement or to a measurement failure. The measurement calls that might have been received during the failure cannot be restored. We strongly recommend to use the possibilities of Monitoring.

Updates of the service platform

We will inform you about updates of the service platform at an early stage and provide you with new versions of the container images as described under Provision of the service platform.


Last update: May 22, 2023

Zum Inhalt

INFOnline Measurement: Serviceplattform self-hosting

Voraussetzungen und Systemanforderungen

Für den Betrieb der Serviceplattform in Ihrer Infrastruktur müssen folgende Voraussetzungen erfüllt sein:

  • Linux (Unix) basierte Infrastruktur
  • entsprechende Berechtigungen auf den Systemen
  • entsprechende Umgebung um Container (z.B. Docker) Images auszuführen
  • Proxy für das SSL-Offloading1
  • CORS Konfiguration via SSL-Offloader2 oder via Serviceplattform3

1 Ein SSL Offloader ist eine Software, welche sich um die SSL/TLS Verbindungen kümmert. Diese braucht ein passend zur Domain ausgestelltes Zertifikat. Die Serviceplattform benötigt einen SSL-Offloader da diese keine SSL/TLS Verbindungen verwalten kann. Bekannte Software in diesem Bereich sind z.B. nginx oder Apache HTTP Server.
2 Um die fehlerfreie Funktion der Zensusmessung zu gewährleisten, muss CORS korrekt konfiguriert werden. Dies kann im verwendeten SSL-Offloader entsprechend vorgenommen werden. 3 CORS kann in der Serviceplattform konfiguriert werden, siehe Konfiguration Container.

Wir empfehlen Ihnen bei einem PI Aufkommen von bis zu 2.000 PI pro Minute folgende minimalen Systemanforderungen:

  • CPU: 4core
  • RAM: 16GB
  • HDD: 80GB

Gibt es auf Ihrem Digital-Angebot Peakzeiten mit mehr als 2.000 PI pro Minute, dimensionieren Sie das System bitte entsprechend größer.

Bereitstellung der Serviceplattform

Um die Serviceplattform in Ihrer Infrastruktur zu betreiben, stellen wir Ihnen nach der Beauftragung folgendes zur Verfügung:

  • Container-Image für die Serviceplattform
  • AccessToken für den Betrieb der Serviceplattform

Das Container-Image stellen wir Ihnen nach der Anmeldung via quay.io Repo zur Verfügung.
Die Zugangsdaten für das Repo erhalten Sie mit Ihrer Auftragsbestätigung - den AccessToken stellen wir Ihnen nach der Einrichtung Ihrer self-hosted Serviceplattform in unserem System mit einer weiteren Einrichtungsmail zur Verfügung.

Einrichtung der Serviceplattform im INFOnline System

Um eine manipulationsfreie Messung via INFOnline Measurement sicherzustellen, werden die Digital-Angebote und die dazu gehörigen Serviceplattformen zentral bei der INFOnline verwaltet. Die Serviceplattform erhält die benötigten Informationen über entsprechende Konfigurationen aus dem zentralen INFOnline System. Für die Kommunikation zwischen dem INFOnline System und der self-hosted Serviceplattform ist ein AccessToken notwendig. Diesen erhalten Sie von unserem Customer Service Team auf Anfrage. Bitte übermitteln Sie uns im Gegenzug den entsprechenden Hosteintrag, unter dem die self-hosted Serviceplattform erreichbar sein wird.

Betrieb der Serviceplattform

  1. Installation
  • Anlegen einer environment Datei mit den Parametern zum Starten des Containers.
    relay_key=<relay-client-namen>
    token=<AccessToken>1
  • Login im Repo:
    docker login --username quay.io2
  • Beziehen des Containers:
    docker pull quay.io/infonline/relay-client:[VERSION]3
  1. Start
  • Startet einen Container, der auf Port 8101 lauscht:
    docker run --name relay-client --env-file [PFAD_ZUR_ENVIRONMENT_DATEI] --publish 127.0.0.1:8101:53119/tcp -d quay.io/infonline/relay-client:[VERSION]

1 Erhalten Sie mit der Einrichtung der Serviceplattform im INFOnline System Bereitstellung der Serviceplattform.
2 Den username erhalten Sie mit der Einrichtungsbestätigung.
3 Die aktuelle Version erhalten Sie mit Ihrer Einrichtungsmail. Bei Änderungen erhalten Sie eine gesonderte Mail.

Konfiguration Container

Die folgenden Parameter können genutzt werden um den Container zu konfigurieren:

Abkürzung Typ Standard Länge Muster Obligatorisch Beschreibung
TOKEN String - 20 ^[a-zA-Z0-9_]*$ ja Token für die Authentifizierung bei IO
RELAY_KEY String - - ^[a-zA-Z0-9_]*$ ja Der Hostname der Serviceplattform, den Sie bei der Einrichtung an die INFOnline übermittelt haben
cors Bool False - - nein Gibt an, ob der CORS Header bei https vom Relay Client gesetzt werden soll (erst ab Version 0.9.1)

Empfehlungen für den Betrieb

Um einen reibungslosen Betrieb sicherzustellen, empfehlen wir Ihnen Ihre Infrastruktur, bzw. den Betrieb der Serviceplattform dynamisch zu gestalten.

Spooling

Sollte das INFOnline System nicht erreichbar sein, speichert die Serviceplattform im Container unter /var/spool/rsyslog temporär die Daten zwischen, bis das INFOnline System wieder erreichbar ist. Wenn der Ordner nicht auf dem Host-System gespeichert wird, können diese Daten bei einem Container-Neustart verloren gehen. Deswegen empfehlen wir diesen Ordner mit folgenden Befehlen auf dem Host-System zwischenzuspeichern:

docker volume create io-service docker run --name relay-client --env-file [PFAD_ZUR_ENVIRONMENT_DATEI] -v io-service:/var/spool/rsyslog --publish 127.0.0.1:8101:53119/tcp -d quay.io/infonline/relay-client:[VERSION]

Monitoring

Die Serviceplattform bietet eine API zum Monitoring der Funktion des Containers.
1 Der Container bietet unter der Adresse localhost:8101/hc.io die Möglichkeit an, einen Healthcheck abzurufen, der die Funktionsweise der PHP Seite und damit die Kette der Software prüft. Bei einem erfolgreichen Check, wird eine 200 Meldung zurückgegeben.
2 Innerhalb des Containers werden auf Port 53120 mehrere Prometheus Exporter Endpunkte zur Verfügung gestellt: localhost:53120/nginx_status, localhost:53120/rsyslog_status und localhost:53120/php_status. Diese Adressen sind erst mal nur innerhalb des Container Daemon Netzwerks erreichbar. Möchte man diese vom Host aus erreichen, muss zusätzlich eine Weiterleitung zu Port 53120 eingerichtet werden. docker run --name relay-client --env-file [PFAD_ZUR_ENVIRONMENT_DATEI] --publish 127.0.0.1:8101:53119/tcp --publish 127.0.0.1:53120:53120/tcp -d quay.io/infonline/relay-client:[VERSION]

Auswirkungen bei Störungen

Die Serviceplattform ist das zentrale Module des INFOnline Measurements. Kommt es zu einer Störung im Betrieb der Serviceplattform, wirkt sich diese direkt auf die Messresultate aus. Ein Ausfall und/oder gestörte Erreichbarkeit der Serviceplattform führt unmittelbar zu einer Mindermessung, bzw. zu einem Messausfall. Die Messaufrufe, die ggf. während der Störung eingelaufen wären, können nicht wiederhergestellt werden. Wir empfehlen Ihnen zwingend die Möglichkeiten des Monitoring zu nutzen.

Updates der Serviceplattform

Über Updates der Serviceplattform werden Sie von uns frühzeitig informiert und wir stellen Ihnen neue Versionen der Container-Images, wie unter Bereitstellung der Serviceplattform beschrieben, bereit.


Letztes Update: August 30, 2022