Skip to content

code management for hybrid apps

Measurement of hybrid apps

With the measurement of mobile apps, INFOnline also offers the option of measuring hybrid apps. The definition of hybrid app according to IVW guidelines states that apps that have a native app part but also access one or more mobile-enabled website(s) for their content ("hybrid apps") are treated uniformly as an app with their entire usage when assigned and published in the category system 2.0 (Cat 2.0).

The INFOnline Measurement measuring system implements this guideline by assigning the traffic of a mobile-enabled website (MEW) generated in the WebView of a hybrid app at runtime to the site ID of the app rather than the site ID of the MEW when generating the measurement requests. MEW traffic that is not generated from a hybrid app, but from a standard mobile browser, will still be mapped to the MEW's offer ID as a regular practice.

The implementation of this policy has an impact on the management of the codes that classify the content of the content and that have to be assigned in the code management according to category system KAT 2.0.

Special case native app with hybrid measurement technology.

  • This is a hybrid app whose web content cannot be accessed externally.
  • The IVW guidelines cited at the beginning refer to mobile-enabled websites. One characteristic of MEWs is that they offer content under their own publicly accessible URL that is optimized for the browsers of mobile devices.
  • In practice, there is a special form of hybrid app. These apps have a native app component and also use mobile-optimized web content, although this is not offered independently from the MEW. This web content is based on the same technology as MEWs, but cannot be accessed outside the hybrid app. This type of app is subsequently referred to as a native app with hybrid measurement technology.
  • Code management for the special case of native app with hybrid measurement technology is described in section Code management for native apps with hybrid measurement technology.

Code management for hybrid apps

Initial situation

Hybrid apps are made up of two components in terms of content:

  • Component 1 forms the native app framework.
  • Component 2 is the content that is loaded from a mobile-enabled website (MEW) via the WebView integrated into the app.

The following prerequisites must be met for hybrid app measurement:

  • Use the INFOnline Measurement Manager as the basis for use in the desktop / MEW area.
  • The app has its own site ID (subsequently referred to as Site IDApp). Codes are assigned for content that is displayed via the native app frame. These page codes are assigned to OfferIdentifierApp in the INFOnline Measurement.
  • Integrating hybrid app measurement as described in INFOnline's Integration Guides for app and for MEW measurement.

**If you are unable to use Measurement Manager, please contact Customer Service.

Allocation of the MEW share of hybrid app usage to the app (technical).

According to IVW and agof specifications, the usage share of a hybrid app that results from calling up a MEW in the WebView must be assigned to the app. The technical implementation of this requirement is realized in the SZM system as follows:

  • Measurement of the native app share: All usage processes that are measured within the native app app share are reported to the SZM system under the offer identifierApp. Those usage transactions that represent a mobile impression are assigned a page code defined by the app provider and to be assigned in the KAT 2.0 category system.
  • Measurement of MEW share: If the WebView is called up within the app to display a MEW, the processes in the measurement are as follows:
    1. the MEW web page called up contains an INFOnline measurement tag with the offer identifierMEW.
    1. the iom.h script called up via the INFOnline Measurement tag independently recognizes that the call-up is taking place in a WebView of a hybrid app is taking place. It automatically rewrites the site ID for the measurement call to siteIDApp. 3.
  • At the same time, a prefix is added to the page code that classifies the content. This reads: ___hyb___AngebotskennungMEW___

The following table compares the original MEW request and the dynamically adapted call in the hybrid measurement using an example:

Value MEW-Request (integrated in MEW source code) hybrid app request dynamically adapted at runtime
site ID ("st:") site IDMEW site IDApp
page code ("cp:") Home1234 ___hyb___offer_identifierMEW___Home1234

???+ info "Note

1
The prefix of the code takes 20 characters. To ensure the uniqueness of the code derivations below the app identifiers, the code in the MEW must not be longer than 234 characters. If the MEW codes are longer than 234 characters, correct synchronization of the assignment cannot be guaranteed.

Code management

The dynamic adjustment of the measurement request in the MEW part of the hybrid app results in codes coming in under the offer identifierApp that do not originate there.

Code derivations

The MEW code Home1234 named in the example was created in the MEW and assigned to the category system 2.0 under the offer identifierMEW.

By calling it up in the context of a hybrid app, a derivation of the MEW code ___hyb___offer identifierMEW___Home1234 has been delivered to the INFOnline Measurement below the offer identifierApp.

Assignment of derived codes in code management according to KAT 2.0

In order to simplify the assignment of derived codes below the offer identifierApp and to save the customer the effort of maintaining the assignment of derived codes x times (a code would otherwise have to be maintained manually below the offer identifierMEW and below all offer identifiersApp that use the MEW in the hybrid share), INFOnline has set up automatic synchronization of the assignments in code management according to category system KAT 2.0.

This ensures that the category assignment of the MEW code in the example

Home1234 under the offer identifierMEW

to all derivations of the code

___hyb___AngebotskennungMEW___Home1234

to be transferred below all offer identifierApp.

Note

For the customer, this means that the maintenance of the category assignment of the code is carried out exclusively under the offer identifierMEW. The derivations of the page code are visible below the offer identifierApp, but are not editable.

Adjustment of the "App" category

In the following categories of the KAT 2.0 category system, the category assignments of a code are transferred unchanged to the derivations of the code.

  1. format
  2. language
  3. producer
  4. homepage
  5. delivery
  6. paid content / service*
  7. content

The category "6th App" in the derivations of the codes below the offer identifierApp is always set to the value "App" as part of the synchronization.

Further information

This synchronization takes place daily at 0:00, so that a daily updated assignment of the derived codes is guaranteed analogous to the assignment of the MEW code.

Deactivation of synchronization

If you do not want the described automatic synchronization of the page codes, please contact Customer Service.

Code management for native apps with hybrid measurement technology

Initial situation

Native apps with hybrid measurement technology are made up of two components in terms of content, analogous to the structure of hybrid apps: Component 1 forms the native app framework and Component 2 represents the content that is loaded via the WebView integrated into the app. Unlike hybrid apps, the source of the web content is not public, but only accessible from the native app with hybrid measurement technology.

The following requirements for the measurement of native apps with hybrid measurement technology must be met:

  • The app has its own site ID (hereafter referred to as siteIDApp). Codes are assigned for content that is displayed via the native app frame. These page codes are defined in the INFOnline Measurment system of the OfferIdentifierApp.
  • Web content included via the WebView is tagged with INFOnline Measurement Manager. In INFOnline Measurement Manager, the site ID of the app that uses the content is used (subsequently referred to as Site IDWebContent). The web content contains codes that are used for categorisation of the content in the code management according to category system KAT 2.0.

Allocation of MEW share of hybrid app usage to app (technical).

According to the IVW and agof specifications, the usage share of a hybrid app that is created in the WebView by calling up a MEW must be assigned to the app. The technical implementation of this requirement is realized in the INFOnline Measurement System as follows:

  • Measurement of the native app share: All usage transactions that are measured within the native app share are reported to INFOnline Measurement under the offer identifierApp. Those usage transactions that represent a mobile impression are assigned a page code defined by the app provider and assigned in code management in accordance with the KAT 2.0 category system.

  • Measurement of the share of web content: If the WebView is called up within the app to display web content, the processes in the measurement are as follows:

    1. the web content accessed includes an INFOnline Measurement tag 2.0 with the OfferIdentifierWebContent.
    1. the script called via the tag independently recognizes iom.h that the call takes place in a WebView of a hybrid app. It automatically rewrites the site ID for the measurement call to siteIdApp.
    1. at the same time, it adds a prefix to the page code that classifies the content. This reads: ___hyb2___AngebotskennungWebInhalt___

The following table compares the original web content request and the dynamically adjusted request in the hybrid measurement:

Value WebView-Request (integrated in source code of web content) hybrid app request dynamically adapted at runtime
site ID ("st:") site IDWebContent site IDApp
page code ("cp:") Home1234 ___hyb2___offer_identifierWebContent___Home1234
Note

The prefix of the identifier takes 21 characters. To ensure the uniqueness of the code derivations below the app identifiers, the code within the web content must not exceed 233 characters. If the page codes of the web content are longer than 233 characters, they will be automatically truncated by the system. As a result, two or more codes that differ only after the 233rd character are combined into one code in the measurement system, so that the content may not be correctly assigned in theCode Management according to category system KAT 2.0.

Code management

The dynamic adaptation of the measurement request in the web part of the native app with hybrid measurement technology shown results in codes arriving under the offer identifierApp that have the prefix ___hyb2___offer identifierWebContent___.

Analogous to the codes from the native app frame, these are listed in the code management of the INFOnline Customer Center under the offer identifierApp and can be assigned there according to the KAT 2.0 category system.

To note

If several native apps with hybrid measurement technology use the same web content that is not publicly accessible, the assignment of the resulting codes with the prefix ___hyb2___offer identifierWebContent___ must be made separately in each app!

Example

If, for example, you offer an app for iOS and one for Android that embed the same web content via a WebView, you must assign the code allocation of the codes that classify the web content (recognizable by the prefix mentioned) in the site ID of the iOS app as well as in the site ID of the Android app in the code management according to category system KAT 2.0!


Last update: April 7, 2022

Zum Inhalt

Code-Management bei hybriden Apps

Messung hybrider Apps

INFOnline bietet mit der Messung von mobilen Applikationen auch die Möglichkeit an, hybride Apps zu messen. Die Definition der hybriden App nach IVW Richtlinien besagt, dass Apps, die einen nativen App-Teil haben, aber für ihren Content auch auf eine oder mehrere mobile enabled Website(s) zugreifen („hybride Apps“), bei der Zuordnung und Ausweisung im Kategoriensystem 2.0 (Kat 2.0) mit ihrer gesamten Nutzung einheitlich als App behandelt werden.

Das INFOnline Measurement-Messsystem setzt diese Richtlinie um, indem der im WebView einer hybriden App erzeugte Traffic einer mobile enabled Website (MEW) zur Laufzeit bei der Erzeugung der Mess-Requests nicht der Angebotskennung der MEW, sondern der Angebotskennung der App zugeordnet wird. MEW-Traffic, der nicht aus einer hybriden App, sondern über einen mobilen Standard-Browser erzeugt wird, wird nach wie vor regulär der MEW-Angebotskennung zugeordnet.

Die Umsetzung dieser Richtlinie hat Auswirkungen auf das Management der Codes, die den Inhalt des Contents klassifizieren und die im Code-Management nach Kategoriensystem KAT 2.0 zugeordnet werden müssen.

Sonderfall native App mit hybrider Messtechnologie

  • Hierbei handelt es sich um eine hybride App, deren Web-Content nicht von extern erreichbar ist.
  • Die eingangs zitierte Richtlinie der IVW nimmt Bezug auf mobile enabled Websites. Ein Merkmal von MEWs ist, dass sie unter einer eigenen öffentlich zugänglichen URL Content anbieten, der für die Browser mobiler Endgeräte optimiert ist.
  • In der Praxis gibt es eine Sonderform der hybriden App. Diese Apps haben einen nativen App-Anteil und nutzen zusätzlich mobil optimierten Web-Content, der allerdings nicht eigenständig aus der MEW angeboten wird. Dieser Web-Content basiert auf der gleichen Technologie wie MEWs, ist jedoch außerhalb der hybriden App nicht zu erreichen. Diese Art von Apps wird in der Folge als native App mit hybrider Messtechnologie bezeichnet.
  • Das Code-Management für den Sonderfall der nativen App mit hybrider Messtechnologie wird Bereich Code-Management bei nativen Apps mit hybrider Messtechnologie beschrieben.

Code-Management bei hybriden Apps

Ausgangslage

Hybride Apps setzen sich inhaltlich aus zwei Komponenten zusammen:

  • Komponente 1 bildet der native App-Rahmen
  • Komponente 2 bilden die Inhalte, die über den in die App integrierten WebView von einer mobile enabled Website (MEW) geladen werden

Folgende Voraussetzungen müssen für die Messung hybrider Apps gegeben sein:

  • Nutzen Sie den INFOnline Measurement Manager als Basis zur Nutzung im Bereich Desktop / MEW
  • Die App hat eine eigene Angebotskennung (in der Folge als AngebotskennungApp bezeichnet). Für Inhalte, die über den nativen App-Rahmen dargestellt werden, werden Codes vergeben. Diese Codes sind im INFOnline Measurement der AngebotskennungApp zugeordnet.
  • Die Integration der hybriden App-Messung, wie sie in den Integration Guides der INFOnline zur App- und zur MEW-Messung beschrieben wird.

Falls Sie den Measurement Manager nicht einsetzen können, melden Sie sich bitte beim Customer Service.

Zuordnung des MEW-Anteils der hybriden App-Nutzung zur App (technisch)

Nach den IVW- und agof-Vorgaben ist der Nutzungsanteil einer hybriden App, der im WebView durch Aufruf einer MEW entsteht, der App zuzuordnen. Die technische Umsetzung dieser Vorgabe ist im SZM-System wie folgt realisiert:

  • Messung des nativen App-Anteils: Alle Nutzungsvorgänge, die innerhalb des nativen App-Anteils gemessen werden, werden unter der AngebotskennungApp ans SZM-System gemeldet. Jene Nutzungsvorgänge, die eine mobile Impression darstellen, werden mit einem vom App-Anbieter festgelegten und im Kategoriensystem KAT 2.0 zuzuordnenden Code versehen.
  • Messung des MEW-Anteils: Wird innerhalb der App der WebView aufgerufen, um eine MEW darzustellen, sind die Abläufe in der Messung wie folgt:
    1. Die aufgerufene MEW-Webseite beinhaltet einen INFOnline Measurement-Tag mit der AngebotskennungMEW
    1. Das über den INFOnline Measurement-Tag aufgerufene Skript iom.h erkennt eigenständig, dass der Aufruf in einem WebView einer hybriden App stattfindet. Es schreibt automatisch die Angebotskennung für den Messaufruf auf AngebotskennungApp um
    1. Gleichzeitig wird der Code, der den Inhalt klassifiziert, um einen Präfix ergänzt. Dieser lautet: ___hyb___AngebotskennungMEW___

Nachfolgende Tabelle stellt an einem Beispiel den ursprünglichen MEW-Request und den in der hybriden Messung dynamisch angepassten Aufruf einander gegenüber:

Wert MEW-Request (integriert in MEW-Quelltext) Dynamisch zur Laufzeit angepasster hybrid-App-Request
Angebotskennung („st:“) AngebotskennungMEW AngebotskennungApp
Code („cp:“) Home1234 ___hyb___AngebotskennungMEW___Home1234
Hinweis

Das Präfix der Kennzeichnung nimmt 20 Zeichen in Anspruch. Um die Eindeutigkeit der Code-Ableitungen unterhalb der App-Kennungen zu gewährleisten, darf der Code in der MEW nicht länger als 234 Zeichen sein. Sollten die MEW-Codes länger als 234 Zeichen sein, kann eine korrekte Synchronisation der Zuordnung nicht gewährleistet werden.

Code-Management

Die dynamische Anpassung des Mess-Requests im MEW-Anteil der hybriden App hat zur Folge, dass unter der AngebotskennungApp Codes einlaufen, die dort nicht ihren Ursprung haben.

Code-Ableitungen

Der im Beispiel benannte MEW-Code Home1234 wurde in der MEW angelegt und unter der AngebotskennungMEW dem Kategoriensystem 2.0 zugeordnet.

Durch den Aufruf im Rahmen einer hybriden App ist unterhalb der AngebotskennungApp eine Ableitung des MEW-Codes ___hyb___AngebotskennungMEW___Home1234 in das INFOnline Measurement geliefert worden.

Zuordnung der abgeleiteten Codes im Code-Management nach KAT 2.0

Um die Zuordnung der abgeleiteten Codes unterhalb der AngebotskennungApp zu vereinfachen und dem Kunden den Aufwand der x-fachen Pflege der Zuordnung der abgeleiteten Codes zu ersparen (ein Code müsste sonst unterhalb der AngebotskennungMEW und unterhalb aller AngebotskennungApp, die die MEW im hybriden Anteil nutzen, manuell gepflegt werden), hat die INFOnline eine automatische Synchronisation der Zuordnungen im Code-Management nach Kategoriensystem KAT 2.0 eingerichtet.

Diese sorgt dafür, dass die Kategorienzuordnung des MEW-Code im Beispiel

Home1234 unter der AngebotskennungMEW

auf alle Ableitungen des Codes

___hyb___AngebotskennungMEW___Home1234

unterhalb aller AngebotskennungApp übertragen werden.

Hinweis

Für den Kunden bedeutet dies, dass die Pflege der Kategorienzuordnung des Codes ausschließlich unter der AngebotskennungMEW erfolgt. Die Ableitungen des Codes sind unterhalb der AngebotskennungApp sichtbar, jedoch nicht editierbar.

Anpassung der Kategorie "App"

In den nachfolgenden Kategorien des Kategoriensystems KAT 2.0 werden die Kategorienzuordnungen eines Codes unverändert auf die Ableitungen des Codes übertragen.

  1. Format
  2. Sprache
  3. Erzeuger
  4. Homepage
  5. Auslieferung
  6. Paid Content / Service*
  7. Inhalt

Die Kategorie „6. App“ in den Ableitungen der Codes unterhalb der AngebotskennungApp wird im Rahmen der Synchronisation immer auf den Wert „App“ gesetzt.

Weitere Informationen

Diese Synchronisation findet täglich um 0:00 Uhr statt, sodass eine tagesaktuelle Zuordnung der abgeleiteten Codes analog der Zuordnung des MEW-Codes gewährleistet ist.

Deaktivierung der Synchronisation

Sollten Sie die beschriebene automatische Synchronisation der Code-Zuordnungen nicht wünschen, nehmen Sie bitte mit dem INFOnline Service & Support Kontakt auf.

Code-Management bei nativen Apps mit hybrider Messtechnologie

Ausgangslage

Native Apps mit hybrider Messtechnologie setzen sich analog zum Aufbau der hybriden Apps inhaltlich aus zwei Komponenten zusammen: Komponente 1 bildet der native App-Rahmen und Komponente 2 stellen die Inhalte dar, die über den in die App integrierten WebView geladen werden. Im Unterschied zu hybriden Apps ist die Quelle der Webinhalte nicht öffentlich, sondern ausschließlich aus der nativen App mit hybrider Messtechnologie erreichbar.

Folgende Voraussetzungen für die Messung von nativen Apps mit hybrider Messtechnologie müssen erfüllt sein:

  • Die App hat eine eigene Angebotskennung (in der Folge als AngebotskennungApp bezeichnet). Für Inhalte, die über den nativen App-Rahmen dargestellt werden, werden Codes vergeben. Diese Codes sind im INFOnline Measurment-System der AngebotskennungApp
  • Die über den WebView eingebundenen Web-Inhalte sind mit INFOnline Measurement Manager vertaggt. Im INFOnline Measurement Manager wird die Angebotskennung der App verwendet, welche die Inhalte nutzt (in der Folge als AngebotskennungWebInhalt bezeichnet). Die Webinhalte enthalten Codes, die zur Kategorisierung der Inhalte im Code-Management nach Kategoriensystem KAT 2.0 verwendet werden.

Zuordnung des MEW-Anteils der hybriden App-Nutzung zur App (technisch)

Nach den IVW- und agof- Vorgaben ist der Nutzungsanteil einer hybriden App, der im WebView durch den Aufruf einer MEW entsteht, der App zuzuordnen. Die technische Umsetzung dieser Vorgabe ist im INFOnline Measurement-System wie folgt realisiert:

  • Messung des nativen App-Anteils: Alle Nutzungsvorgänge, die innerhalb des nativen App-Anteils gemessen werden, werden unter der AngebotskennungApp ans INFOnline Measurement gemeldet. Jene Nutzungsvorgänge, die eine mobile Impression darstellen, werden mit einem vom App-Anbieter festgelegten und im Code-Management gem. Kategoriensystem KAT 2.0 zuzuordnenden Code versehen.

  • Messung des Anteils der Webinhalte: Wird innerhalb der App der WebView aufgerufen, um Webinhalte darzustellen, sind die Abläufe in der Messung wie folgt:

    1. Die aufgerufenen Webinhalte beinhalten einen INFOnline Measurement-Tag 2.0 mit der AngebotskennungWebInhalt
    1. Das über den Tag aufgerufene Skript erkennt iom.h eigenständig, dass der Aufruf in einem WebView einer hybriden App stattfindet. Es schreibt automatisch die Angebotskennung für den Messaufruf auf AngebotskennungApp um
    1. Gleichzeitig wird der Code, der den Inhalt klassifiziert, um einen Präfix ergänzt. Dieser lautet: ___hyb2___AngebotskennungWebInhalt___

Nachfolgende Tabelle stellt an einem Beispiel den ursprünglichen Webinhalt-Request und den in der hybriden Messung dynamisch angepassten Aufruf einander gegenüber:

Wert Webview-Request (integriert in Quelltext des Webinhaltes) Dynamisch zur Laufzeit angepasster hybrid-App-Request
Angebotskennung („st:“) AngebotskennungWebInhalt AngebotskennungApp
Code („cp:“) Home1234 ___hyb2___AngebotskennungWebInhalt___Home1234
Hinweis

Das Präfix der Kennzeichnung nimmt 21 Zeichen in Anspruch. Um die Eindeutigkeit der Code-Ableitungen unterhalb der App-Kennungen zu gewährleisten, darf der Code innerhalb des Webinhaltes nicht länger als 233 Zeichen sein. Sollten die Codes der Webinhalte länger als 233 Zeichen sein, werden sie vom System automatisch abgeschnitten. Dies hat zur Folge, dass zwei oder mehr Codes, die sich erst nach dem 233. Zeichen unterscheiden, im Mess-System zu einem Code zusammengefasst werden, so dass die Inhalte u.U. nicht korrekt imCode-Management nach Kategoriensystem KAT 2.0 zugeordnet werden können.

Code-Management

Die dargestellte dynamische Anpassung des Mess-Requests im Web-Anteil der nativen App mit hybrider Messtechnologie hat zur Folge, dass unter der AngebotskennungApp Codes einlaufen, die das Präfix ___hyb2___AngebotskennungWebInhalt___ tragen.

Diese sind analog zu den Codes aus dem nativen App-Rahmen im Code-Management des Kunden-Centers der INFOnline unter der AngebotskennungApp aufgeführt und können dort nach Kategoriensystem KAT 2.0 zugeordnet werden.

Zu beachten

Nutzen mehrere native Apps mit hybrider Messtechnologie dieselben nicht öffentlich erreichbaren Webinhalte, so muss die Zuordnung der daraus entstehenden Codes mit dem Präfix ___hyb2___AngebotskennungWebInhalt___ in jeder App separat erfolgen!

Beispiel

Bieten Sie z.B. eine App für iOS und eine für Android an, welche dieselben Webinhalte über einen WebView einbinden, so müssen Sie die Code-Zuordnung der Codes, welche die Webinhalte klassifizieren (erkennbar am genannten Präfix), sowohl in der Angebotskennung der iOS-App als auch in der Angebotskennung der Android-App im Code-Management nach Kategoriensystem KAT 2.0 zuordnen!


Letztes Update: February 11, 2022